A growing number of people feel that animals should not be exploited by people and that they should have the same rights as humans, while others argue that humans must employ animals to satisfy their various needs, including uses for food and research. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Various species of animals are employed to fulfil human needs such as food, transportation, and research. Many individuals argue against it and believe that animals should have equal rights as humans, and should not be exploited; while others advocate that it is okay to use animals for our benefit. This essay discusses both viewpoints, however, I strongly concur with the group that believes animals should be treated with kindness. In recent times, there has been an increase in the number of people raising their voices against animal cruelty as they believe that just because humans are the most intelligent and advanced beings, it does not give them the right to exploit the ones below them. Moreover, due to our selfish decisions, many species of the animal kingdom are already extinct, and many are endangered. For example, passenger pigeons, which were very common in the past, were easy to trap and served as a cheaper food alternative, therefore, people exploited them so much that they have now become extinct. Hence, I believe that if we continue to harm and kill animals to cater to our requirements, we will end up destroying the entire ecosystem. Nevertheless, there are many people who believe that animals should be used to satisfy human needs such as providing necessary nutrition, and for research purposes. Monkeys have been used for medicinal research for decades. Most of the medicines, before reaching the human trial stage have to pass animal testing, this method allows to protect humans from potential adverse effects. However, in my opinion, the same nutrients can be obtained from animal resources, and furthermore, the technology has become so advanced that we can test these medicines using alternative methods, which do not involve harming other species. In conclusion, using animals in our day-to-day lives remains a contentious topic, however, I wholeheartedly believe that we should treat them kindly. Moreover, it is prudent to take steps to protect them instead of harming them, to preserve the balance of ecosystem.