In the past, when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have more opportunity to study abroad. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development? You should use your own ideas, knowledge. and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence.

Studying abroad has become a more and more popular trend between university students these days. Do the advantages outweigh the drawbacks? The debate seems controversial. On the one hand, it cannot be denied that moving to another country for your degree is more expensive than staying in your own country. For instance, take into account rent costs and the electricity bills that would otherwise be paid by your parents whilst still living in your childhood home. Moreover, leaving your friends and family behind is heartbreaking. However, on the other hand, attending university abroad is an exceptional occasion to get to know a new culture and new traditions as well as to learn a new language. Moreover, it gives you the chance to make friends with people from all over the world, thus enhancing your social skills. It is also worth considering that going out of your comfort zone allows you to mature and to become more indipendent, thus boosting your self-esteem. In fact, since they cannot rely on their parents for the household cores or everyday life errands, students learn to properly take care of themselves and the place where they live. Additionally, being an international student increases the chances of getting a competitive job offer in the future, as it is widely known that companies value experiences in a foreign country highly when sorting through job applications. To sum up, although it is acceptable to think otherwise, in my view, students should not miss out on the opportunity of studying abroad, even for a brief period of time.