Some people believe that children should spend all of their free time with thrir family. Others believe that thid is unnecessary or even negative. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In this day and age, people have different views about how children should spend their leisure time. While there are some good arguments in favour of the view that they should devote all of their time to families, I would argue that they should also invest in other aspects as it would help them develop comprehensively. On the one hand, there is a growing belief that the young generation should solely use their free time for their loved ones. The first reason is that young individuals nowadays have to spend a huge amount of time in school, resulting in less interaction with their parents. The relationships between parents and their offspring are considered to be vital for their development, thus the more time they spend together, the better. Secondly, there are many inappropriate individuals that youngsters might encounter in their lives, and children nowadays are considered to be vulnerable and easily exploited. For instance, in Vietnam, it has been commonly reported that children are the target that bad people take advantage of, especially in terms of money. On the other hand, consuming time more wisely could open up numerous opportunities for children. Firstly, spending time to learn new things helps them to find their strengths, and allows them to comprehensively grow. For instance, in Vietnam, children tend to research new things on the Internet when they are free, widening their knowledge that could help them in the future. Another reason is that attending community service or volunteer work might also equip them for the future with the necessary skill set. For example, real-life situations and connections offer a golden opportunity to improve their interpersonal, critical thinking and problem-solving abilities. In conclusion, although both views certainly have some validity, it seems to me that children should be encouraged to spend time on different types of activities, rather than just with their family.