Nowsday, a growing numboer of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In the present day, many people tend to shift their treatments from usual doctors to alternative medicines. In this essay, both the advantages and drawbacks of this situation will be discussed in detail before the conclusion is reached. On the one hand, there are many significant negative consequences associated with the shift to alternative medicine nowadays. First, many types of local alternative medicine lack medical research and strong evidence of their successful treatments, as most of them were created from cultural beliefs and random experts. Receiving traditional local treatment could be seriously harmful when individuals have underlying medical conditions. For example, some with osteoporosis or deep vein thrombosis, their life would be at risk if they get some local treatment massages, leading to bone fracture and cardiac arrest. Distraction from essential help from doctors by alternative medicine is another concern, resulting in a delay in treatment. Patients with cancer tend to use alternative medicine before the disease progresses to an uncured point. However, people with a health problems can benefit from alternative ways, being as a spiritual curative way for hopeless patients with non-curative diseases such as late-state cancer, improving their mental health and giving hope. Alternative medicines are the best option for persons with low income who cannot afford expensive medicine or operation from the healthcare system. Although, they are not reliable as usual treatment, some benefits from them could be enough. For instance, workers with unsustainable finances, usually have some muscle pain which can be relieved by traditional medicine like massage and acupuncture. In Summary, while alternative medicines provide significant benefits such as spirited curative and affordable, focusing on these alternatives also has negative impacts including complications from unreliable outcomes and distraction from the main treatment. Ultimately, I believe that the drawbacks of this situation outweigh the benefits.