Sending space crafts and astronauts into space is very expensive. It would be of greater value for the government to use the money spent on space exploration to improve the quality of life on Earth. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this day and age, it has become increasingly prevalent for people to believe that exploring the universe is unnecessarily expensive. While there are some good arguments in favour of the view that they should use that money to improve the earth life quality, I personally disagree with this notion. On the one hand, there are two primary reasons why individuals believe that space exploration is not as vital as life on Earth. The first reason is that most people are living on earth nowadays,arguing that there still remain various problems. Thus global citizen believe governments should invest more money to solve these kinds of issues to enhance their life quality. Secondly, governments have already spent a huge amount of money to explore galaxies, however, they still cannot find any alternative planets that can replace the Earth. For instance, NASA has sent many astronauts since the technological breakthroughs and they have reported finding no suitable place for human beings. On the other hand, apart from the practical reasons expressed above, I maintain that understanding space is more advantageous. Firstly, the earth has witnessed several extinctions since the Big Bang explosion, which might happen again beyond human control. Therefore, governments believe that finding another liveable world is necessary to hinder human extinction in the near future. Secondly, the universe contains a large quantity of knowledge,which helps improve our life quality on Earth. For instance, Einstein figured out how radiation works just by looking at a meteoroid explosion, which brings significant benefits to the development of technology. In conclusion, while there are certain reasons why individuals believe that the expenditure for space is too expensive and should be considered to be used for Earth improvement, it seems to me that space explosion is more important due to the knowledge it holds.