Countries are becoming more and more similar because people are able to buy the same products anywhere in the world. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

The world has become a global village where people share the same interests and follow the same trends in terms of shopping and fashion. Regardless of their residence, an increasing number of individuals can purchase similar items and goods around the globe. However, I believe this tendency harbors only negative implications rather than positive ones. Firstly, when people purchase the same commodities internationally, it harms many countries economically. Most of the products that appeal to people across the world, such as smartphones and chic clothes, are manufactured by major companies in developed countries. This affects the local industries in less developed and developing countries. In Egypt, for example, many locals prefer to shop for fashionable clothes from high-end transnational stores rather than buy clothes from local stores that sell “made-in-Egypt” products. This results in a significant decline in the sales of domestic goods and even in the closures of many national businesses, thus suggesting that when individuals in all countries are able to get the same items, it has an undesirable influence on local economies. Secondly, buying things is a way people use to express their interests and preferences. When someone purchases a popular product from abroad, it means that this person is keen to follow global trends. If this becomes an increasing attitude among individuals, people will wipe away their cultural identities to adopt new foreign ones. It is common now, for instance, to see people all over the world wearing the same clothes and abandoning their local customs. Eventually this cultural change will not stop at one’s choice of clothes but will expand to dominate all aspects of life and pale nations’ cultural richness. In conclusion, if individuals all over the globe shop for the same items, this development will have harmful impacts on national businesses and will eclipse these individuals ’ national identities.