Many students choose to study at colleges and universities that are far away from the places where they grew up. Do the benefits of this outweigh the drawbacks?

Nowadays it is common for young people to travel to far-flung places to study. This essay will argue that despite the fact that it often leads to financial difficulties, it is far more advantageous to study in places that are far away from one’s parents because it leads to independence. Young people frequently face financial problems if they decide to enrol in a degree course in a distant town. This is because it is no longer possible for them to live in their parents’ house, and they therefore have to pay for their own accommodation as well as utilities and food. For example, in this country, it is common for young people in this situation to take on part-time jobs so that they can pay their expenses while at university. I believe that this shows that it is possible to survive financially in this situation and that this is not a significant drawback. The great advantage of studying in a far-off place is that it allows young people to experience what it is like to be independent of their families. Leaving the family home allows them to choose whatever lifestyle they want and not be under the influence of their elders. For instance, at universities in the UK, it is noticeable that students who are no longer living in their parents’ houses mature more quickly than those who are still living at home, and this is clearly because they cannot depend on their parents and must instead embrace their newfound independence. Therefore, I would argue that the benefits of studying away from home are more significant than the drawbacks. In conclusion, travelling to a distant place to study might be financially challenging for those who have just left their childhood home, but the advantages of being independent far outweigh that drawback.