Online, people write product reviews and opinions about services. Is it a good thing or bad thing?

With the development of technology, the use of the internet to purchase items and services has become more common among people. People like to share their experience and observations on these products with the world. In my opinion, I believe that this is a positive advancement as consumers are able to get an idea of the product they are purchasing. In this essay, I will be discussing why writing reviews is a good trend. Firstly, customers who have already purchased the product are able to share their personal opinions on it. They can share whether the item is of good quality and provide information on the reliability of the product as to whether it is sold as advertised. Certain organisations like to falsely advertise the goods they sell to get more business, therefore, with personal feedback from other consumers on reliability, future customers can save money if the product has been falsely advertised. In addition, these reviews give buyers the opportunity to make a choice on whether to buy these items online or go to a physical store. For example, reading reviews on purchase of clothes is useful as some purchasers might have issues with the sizing and it would be better for them to go to a physical store to try on the clothes. Furthermore, bad reviews on products and services act as a deterrent for customers to spend on goods that are of poor quality. Some people may have the impression that the item they want to buy is of good quality due to the influence of social media, when in reality the product is not up to standards. Personal feedback from former customers helps customers save money by preventing unnecessary purchases. In conclusion, reviews on products and services are beneficial to new customers as it provides feedback on the reliability and quality of the product, which helps customers make a choice and save money where they can.