Many believe that government surveillance and data collection badly affect individual privacy, but others think these are necessary for national security. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.[265]

With the overwhelming proliferation of mass surveillance and data gathering technology, many individuals have raised ethical questions concerning the infringement of personal privacy. Supporters, on the other hand, debate that national safety necessitates such scrutiny of citizens. In this essay, both viewpoints will be thoroughly discussed, after which my own stance will be provided and substantiated. On the one hand, critics of governmental monitoring and data amassing argue that such surveillance tends to expose scrutinized citizens to distress and abuse. Multiple tools, such as biometrics, communications interception, and closed-circuit television cameras are utilized by some authority to monitor and record knowledge about individuals surreptitiously on a massive scale. The non-uniqueness and immutability of information may facilitate illegal disclosure to third parties, who are prone to ply such data resources for other reasons. A manifest example for this phenomenon is identity theft, which has resulted in immense cash losses, bankruptcy, and a lowered sense of public safety. Given the severity and complexity of those crimes, citizens are eligible to think that the perceived public good at the expense of their personal privacy may not justify the pernicious impact deriving from unfettered government surveillance. On the other hand, a school of thought held by advocates is that joined up surveillance and information harvesting can elevate national security as well as enhance public health. In terms of citizens’ safety, the majority of monitoring devices, one of which is CCTV cameras, help the authority exert more crime control through the reinforcement of an epistemic asymmetry. For example, providing that many cameras are hidden in plain sight, innocent pedestrians may not necessarily notice them; however, potential criminals will be effectively deterred by their unnerving presence, ensuring the well-being of nearby inhabitants. Another point in favor of government surveillance is its indispensable part in disease prevention in the form of contact tracing and vaccine recordings. Without medical information reaped from individuals, numerous health goals, such as disease control, would hardly be fulfilled. In conclusion, given the indisputable importance of mass surveillance and data collection in improving the nations’ safety and healthcare conditions, promotion of such systems is advisable. However, the present ways of conduct are still highly susceptible to misuse, which, from my perspective, can be bettered through the specification of the locations, methods, and purposes of data collection. Such clarity helps the government avert the risk of eroding the right to privacy while maintaining the aforementioned safety benefits.