Some universities now offer their courses on the Internet so that people can study online. Is this a positive or negative development?

Online education is a comparatively new trend, and thousands of educational institutes have already embraced this method to offer their courses. While some negative aspects of this development cannot be ignored, the advantages of it are so profound that it is overall a positive development. To begin with, many universities in developed countries offer online degrees and short courses, and they have started doing so only after proper research. The research proved that Internet-based courses are advantageous both for students and teachers. The intuitive and methodical lessons offered by an online course are planned by several university teachers and technology experts, and hence, they maintain an uncompromising quality. The widespread use of the Internet makes it handy for people to enrol in a course without considering time and distance. This trend has attracted thousands of professionals, housewives and elderly people to continue their education or take courses of their choice. For instance, as many as twenty-five thousand housewives in the USA completed their preferred online courses and diplomas last year. Attending traditional classroom-based courses was impossible for this large number of housewives and busy professionals. Moreover, Internet-based courses offered by universities and colleges are easier to follow, and someone can retake the same lessons over and over again, unlike traditional classes. Thus many students have reported that Internet-based online tools and programmes as their preferred learning tools. Many skill-developing online courses, for example, have assisted thousands of young people in pursuing their careers in technology, and this has all been possible with Internet-based learning offered by educational institutes. To conclude, technological advancements in education, especially online education, are a great leap towards a world without illiteracy and unemployment. Hence, this is such a positive development that has helped millions and continues to do so.