Many say that international students should reside in university dormitories while others think shared community housing is better. What are the advantages of both? Which approach do you favour? Give reasons and examples to support your answer.

here is a long-standing debate which argues whether international students should reside in university dormitories or shared community housing. There are advantages and disadvantages in both instances and I will discuss both and provide my own opinion on both. On the one hand, international students have travelled far away from their communities and firstly it necessary to find a secure place to stay. Secondly, university dormitories could be easily obtainable through booking and help them to settle in initially with less hassle. For example, facilities for cooking, cleaning clothes and studying which are readily available all the time. Residing closer to the university helps to access all the facilities. However, the rent is very expensive and could lead to financial instability. During summer the on-site residences are closed and that forces you to find a new place to stay. On the other hand, community housing is much cheaper and will have the same facilities. Shared cooking and washroom usage seem to be a hassle all the time. The safety in shared housing will depend on the type of roommates you have and it might not always be easy to find one at a closer distance. However, if all expectations are satisfied you could continuously reside in one place without moving out very often. In conclusion, both have their advantages and disadvantages and selecting a housing category according to the student's needs and minimizing moving often will provide a long-term advantage for the students to focus on their studies.