Companies invest millions of dollars in advertising to persuade consumers to buy their products. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages for the consumer?

Corporations put a lot of money into advertisements as a persuasive approach to selling their products to customers. While this has disadvantages like increased costs and distrust, I believe the advantages like brand visibility and positive impact on the economy outweigh the negative impact of it. Advertising agencies or even in-house creations require immense capital and resources to launch a successful campaign because this requires highly skilled professionals who are often well-paid. The tools required to build a creative and the medium of launch also come with an extremely high fee. Moreover, such an instrument almost always overpromises to the viewers. As a result, when the consumers compare the reality with what was narrated in an ad, they see a stark difference, resulting in brand distrust. For example, Miko, a robotic company from India, claimed in their ads that its product can play hide and seek with children. In reality, it could not even follow a child properly, thereby leading to extensive negative reviews on Amazon that ultimately resulted in delisting. Having said that, these effects are almost nothing in comparison to its benefits. The reach that a brand receives after advertisements is insane. Organizations are able to get into people's heads through multiple channels like the TV, radio, internet, hoardings etc, leading to increased brand recall. Therefore, it becomes easy for an individual to identify a hugely advertised product over others, especially in the commodity segment. Further, the economy is also uplifted due to this. They lead to a huge uptick in sales, which is followed by more tax collections by the government through the company's increased operational cost and also directly from the consumers. For instance, the Indian government collected record GST on heavily marketed products and commodities in comparison to others in the 2023-24 financial year. These effects make it worthwhile for the companies to bear the cost and a hit on their customer satisfaction score. In conclusion, advertising goods and services is a costly affair and sometimes is exaggerated leading to low customer trust. However, I believe that the benefits like brand identification and monetary gains through duty fees outweigh the negative impact of it.