Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a postive or a negative development?

In the present day, alternative medicines are becoming popular and get more attention from many people than usual doctors. In this essay, both positive and negative consequences associated with this situation will be discussed in detail before reaching the conclusion. On the one hand, alternative medicines have several significant drawbacks on individuals. One of the main concerns is the unreliable outcome of their treatment because most alternatives came from cultural beliefs and some individual experts, which lack supporting data of their benefits, resulting in treatment failure or worsening of the disease. Complication from alternatives is another serious issue, leading to morbidity and mortality. For example, some with medical conditions like osteoporosis or deep vein thrombosis receiving a local massage could be fatal, as it can cause fracture and cardiac arrest. Additionally, people who are distracted by the alternative medicines from the main treatment can result in delaying crucial treatment plans and some diseases would progress to an advanced stage. On the other hand, there are many advantages provided by these alternative trends. For someone with incurable disease such as late-stage cancer, which alternatives can serve as spiritual treatment and provide emotional support, as they are the remaining hope for them. Moreover, alternative ways are better options for those who have low income, who cannot afford expensive treatment from the hospital, as most of them are affordable and accessible. For instance, workers with muscle strain can reduce their symptoms by receiving acupuncture, simply massage and herbs. In summary, While these alternative trends have some benefits such as spiritual treatment, emotional support and being an option for those who have low financial status, they bring many drawbacks including unreliable treatments, serious complications and delaying mainstay treatment. Lastly, I believe that their drawbacks outweigh benefits. Therefore, if the government plays an important role by regulating and researching alternative medicines more, people will benefit from a variety of options in treatment effectively.