It has been suggested that cars and public transport should be banned from city centres and only bicycles be allowed instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that city centres should only allow bicycles and prevent public vehicles from entering. This essay completely agrees with the statement because it will reduce traffic and air pollution in the region. Doing away with cars and buses in urban centres is going to reduce traffic congestion significantly, especially in peak hours. As the number of public vehicles reduces, commuters would turn towards alternate approaches like walking or taking a train. As a result, the jam caused by traffic signals would completely vanish and people would be able to travel to the locations inside the city easily. For example, during the Durga Puja festival in West Bengal, a state in India, traffic police ban the entry of private cars, buses, and even bikes enter the city, resulting in localities walking swiftly on the roads. Moreover, the smoke coming out of the exhausts of vehicles which in turn pollutes the air around the city will disappear completely, leading to a negative spike in the air quality index. The smoke coming out of these vehicles during a traffic jam often causes breathing issues to people around, thereby leading to serious health issues. Solving this problem by uprooting the cause, will bring relief to people living in these areas. For instance, Belgium's ban on public transport in some of their most populated cities has brought the air quality index of these areas higher than ever before. In conclusion, the suggestion of banning public vehicles from metropolitan centres and only allowing bicycles is welcoming because it reduces traffic congestion and air pollution.