Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In today’s world, people tend to choose alternative treatments and medications to ensure they gain a healthy condition with less stressful and low in cost. However, this option leads to several drawbacks. Firstly, people are not only willing to have a healthy life, but also an instant process to get that state of health, thus they seek for alternative treatments. However, alternative medications and treatments require unprofessional or amateur healthy workers. Therefore, instead giving the right diagnose and medication based on scientific knowledges and skills, they depict their patients condition based on their experiences and assumptions. Take, for example, in Indonesia, herbal medication for tonsils is seem to be popular, which people get a suggestion to consume frozen drinks and foods to heal their disease. On the other hand, people are trying to minimalize their medication budget, therefore they are looking for alternative treatments. Consequently, they need to face some treatments that lack of high quality’s machines and traditional treatments. Subsequently, whether gain a healthy condition, they are susceptible to get mistreatment. For instance, there is an upward trend due to miscarriage, because some of pregnancy moms in the rural area choose midwives to get their baby birth, which have lack of appropriate tools. In conclusion, although alternatives treatments and medications can help patients to get treatments instantly and cheap, they still serve several drawbacks that can make patients conditions more severe than before.