It has been argued that gift giving should not be encouraged, because money is often wasted on things that people do not like or want. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this?

There is no denying the fact that gift -giving is a popular protocol when there is a special occasion. While there is a commonly held belief that this statement should not be encouraged this statement, due to wasting money, there is also an argument against it. This essay will discuss both points of view, and then I will present my opinion. On the one hand, there is no doubt that the gift is a symbol of appreciation; it is a beautiful way to show your love and express your emotions. In other words, paying or making a gift is a simple way to strengthen relationships, but it has many bad effects. Primarily, paying for an expensive gift could be wasting money, particularly if the gift does not match the other party's expectations, or it is not from their preferences. For example, presenting a present to your grandmother without knowing what her preference is, undoubtedly, this gift will not be fit for her. On the other hand, there are various ways to express your love instead of gifts. It is also possible to say that spending time, helping in a hard time, and offering your services could be priceless to your family and friends. Moreover, untangible gifts could be like or better than tangible ones. For instance, spending a weekend mowing your grandmother's garden, and making groceries for her could be valuable for her rather than paying her a cup. To conclude, despite people having different views on this topic, and while the gift plays a significant role in strengthening the bonds, I firmly tend to believe that gift giving should not be encouraged, and there are numerous ways to show love to others.