There is an increasing trend around the world of married couples deciding not to have children. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for couples who decide to do this

In the 21st century, an increasing number of married couples are choosing to remain childless. This decision could benefit those who are seeking career progression. However, the main disadvantage of this trend is the lack of support in old age. The primary advantage of having a life without a child is to be free from the responsibilities of raising a child, which could hinder the career growth of an individual. Being childless can free them from the burden of raising and supporting their children's future, such responsibilities could distract an individual from their personal goals. For instance, we hear several stories about individuals who were unable to follow their passion because they needed to support their children. Thus, when an individual has time for themselves they are able to achieve their goals, which an individual with a child could not. The demerit of this trend is the lack of support that individuals experience in their old age. It is commonly observed, that a child takes care of his or her parents during their old age, when they are unfit to take care of themselves. When an individual is without a child they often suffer from depression due to loneliness. For instance, retirement homes are usually used by those who are childless and have no one to look after them. Individuals without children of their own are often lonely in their old age. In conclusion, if a married couple decides not to have children they are able to follow their passion and achieve their career goals. But the main disadvantage of this decision is having no one to look after individuals in their old age.