In the past, most people used to travel to their place of work. With increased use of computers, the internet and smart phones, more and more people are starting to work from home. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

There is no doubt that the populace prefers to work from home compared to in offices. Working from residence has become a norm after the COVID-19 pandemic as it offers people a much more flexible and convenient way of doing work; however, it has both pros and cons. As that is the case, I am going to discuss my point of view for both sides with evidence for each claim. The benefits of working from a roof over their head include increasing the productivity and efficiency of the workers. As the research states, civilians tend to be more concentrated on their property compared to the workplace for some reason; because their homes are much quieter than the workplace, especially in the city centre. For instance, my sister works at a retail company, the physical store is located inside the Kuala Lumpur City Centre (KLCC); however, when the pandemic hit she has been working from her residence as the manager for their online store. She used to rush to her workplace but not anymore as she just woke up and works from her desk. As a result, she has been awarded the best employee; in the light of that she has recorded the highest sales in the online store. In winding up, working from residence surely increased the productivity and efficiency of the workers. On the other hand, working from accommodation has its drawbacks. By working from it, mankind may experience a mental disturbance which can lead to depression. For the small proportion of the population, they cannot stand being alone which causes them severe stress. This limited communication with the outside world may be one of the factors of this mental disturbance. Sometimes, you should rest and communicate with human beings, as it is very draining to sit for hours in front of the computer. For instance, a worker was given a task that she could not handle alone which led her to severe depression causing her not to step out of the apartment for one month. To sum up, working from their property has its setbacks to people’s mental health. On the final note, even though this issue has both pros and cons, the pros outweigh the cons; however, it can be solved in many ways. For instance, employees should take a break from long working hours in front of computers and just rest.By doing this, we can say no to worn out.They can call their friends to share their problems.