Some people think that social networking sites have a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is a fact that social media is ubiquitous worldwide. Certain individuals believe that social networking channels have detrimental effects on people and communities. I am in complete agreement with this proposition because it causes psychological challenges to individuals. To begin with, one outcome of social media use is that it generates negative self image. For example, a user who posts a video, a picture or an update and does not get enough number of views, comments or likes feels very low mentally. This is because people want to become popular and if they do not meet this goal they feel rejected. Furthermore, social media sites cause depression among individuals, since people compare their reality with the achievements of their friends and peers. Many people unfortunately do self harm because of this reason. While it cannot be denied that due to social networks people can build more contacts globally, this can be advantageous when individuals use in moderation. To illustrate, Facebook is a platform where people can send a friend request internationally and make new friends to know them personally or professionally. However, excessive chatting with someone while messaging leads to social isolation rather than meaningful connections. Moreover, people can develop aggressive behaviour after watching irrelevant crime videos on social networking sites because such content do not give appropriate information to show anger on it. In conclusion, although social media have helped people to make global contacts, these social networking sites have negatively affected individuals self image, leading to depression and anger issues.