The only way to improve the safety on our own road is to have stricter punishment for driving offenders. To what extend do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is established that road safety is important worldwide. There is only one method to increase our own road safety is to implement strict rules for driving criminals. I am in complete agreement with this proposition because it would be beneficial for individuals and society. To begin with, one punishment for drivers who do not follow rules is a licence suspension. For example, it is observed that the road traffic accident rate is very low in a country like Canada as people strictly follow traffic signals every time. This is because individuals will lose their driving licence if they disobey legislation which leads to more safety for pedestrians and cyclists on the road. Furthermore, another punishment would be to increase fines. People would not want to give extra money to the traffic police officers for breaking rules, which makes them obey instructions for road safety. While it cannot be denied that there are other ways to improve road safety like improving road design and infrastructure, this can be advantageous when individuals use it properly. To illustrate, the governmental authorities provide funds to build well-maintained roads in India, however, public activities like blocked drainage systems and traffic congestion can damage the roads. Moreover, stricter punishment like mandatory jail time would create fear among individuals. To avoid this, people will make sure to follow rules for road safety, which would be beneficial for individuals and society. In conclusion, although other methods can be followed to improve road safety such as developing infrastructure on the road, it is crucial to implement strict punishment like licence suspension, fine money and mandatory jail time for maintaining roads.