Although globalisation can be positive for some nations’ economies, the negative impact on local communities should not be ignored. Do you agree or disagree?

While there are some positive implications of globalization on the economy for some countries, the local communities are negatively impacted due to it. This essay agrees with the statement because it causes local businesses to shut down and regional culture to slowly vanish. Globalization forces local retailers, manufacturers, and distributors to go out of business. Prices of similar products become so competitive that it gets increasingly difficult for the local businesses to maintain their monopoly. As a result, the demand for their products goes down, resulting in a decline in sales, and ultimately shutting down their shops. For instance, the last Music World retail outlet in India, having all the music records in the world, got shut down because people preferred online music streaming platforms like Spotify and YouTube Music, at a cheaper price compared to buying costly CDs and DVDs from the outlet. Globalization also impacts native cultures negatively. Generally, people adapt quickly to the new and exciting ways of living their lives that globalization brings with it. This adaptation becomes a practice over a period of time and some generations later, it becomes the only way to live, almost eradicating the existence of local traditions. For instance, Kolkata, a city in India, was called the cultural capital of the country. With more immigrants settling inside the city for the last 15 years, either from a different part of the country or from foreign nations, the practice of its local art forms, music, and literature has completely gone away. In conclusion, although globalization has a positive impact on some countries' financial health, it has dire consequences on local communities, which leads to local retailers filing for bankruptcy and native culture getting lost in time.