Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermarkets in some countries, many small. local business are unable to compete. some people think that the closure of local business will bring death of the local communities. to what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is an argument that local stores will be forced to close because of difficulty to survive due to the massive innovation and expansion of hypermarkets in several places around the world. I personally agree that the local markets experience a death closure and I will elaborate more on this essay. Firstly, supermarkets usually offer cheaper prices than the small stores. As huge shopping marts provide more complete goods and a larger area, customers prefer to purchase to these places. Owing to this phenomenon, the hypermarkets can provide more affordable prices. For example, Giant, a famous huge grocery store in Indonesia, often have discount prices in certain days, such as weekends. Furthermore, this shopping mart also has its own parking lots which attracts more customers because of its comfortable space. Whereas, as an independent stores, local marts usually have higher prices. As a result, more people choose bigger stores as their go-to marts. Secondly, the huge shopping stores have wider range of products variety. As a part of a big company, supermarkets could offer better products' qualities and more quantities. The big convenience stores with many varieties can be such a go-to mart for many people in their daily life. For instance, Transmart, the company competitor of Giant, provide various product, it does not only offers home groceries, but also offers fashion and beauty products. Meanwhile, local stores offer limited goods because it is more product-segmented. Therefore, many individuals prefer to shop in bigger stores for monthly shopping. In conclusion, I strongly believe that supermarkets development are likely to make the local shops death in terms of having more affordable and complete products.