Most people could not go to work in quarantine period and stayed at home due to the Covid-19 pandemic. What problems lockdown may arise, and how can these problems be tackled.

The Covid-19 pandemic was one of the most significant disruptions in modern history across communities in the world, causing prolonged lockdowns affecting people's lifestyles and ability to work. This paper aims to explore these problems caused by lockdowns in detail, and suggest some potential solutions to ease the disruptions. First of all, lockdowns have resulted in changes in consumers' demand for certain services, resulting in many people losing their income and careers. With a stark decrease in overseas travel demands due to border restrictions, airlines are one of the industries with a devastating impact being brought by the pandemic. According to a news conference initiated by an airline tycoon British Airways in 2022, 80% of the flights operated by the airlines were cancelled due to lack of demand, resulting in at least 1000 workers being either fired or being told to have unpaid leave. Without a sustainable income, these workers would face difficulties in making a living. Secondly, many families were forced to stay at home during lockdown, which has led to an increase in domestic conflict and violence. According to data collected by the US Government, there was a 60% increase in family violence reports across the states since lockdown, with many cases caused by the increased tensions as family members spent more time facing each other in closed, indoor spaces. As there were only a limited amount of people having the privilege to stay in a spacious house or apartment during lockdown, negative impacts on mental wellbeing were often believed to be a significant problem during the pandemic. Understanding the impact that the COVID pandemic has brought to the community, governments and technology firms should play a major part in finding solutions to address these problems. Unlike other traditional ways of communication, digital technologies are some of the only mediums that can be used without disruptions during lockdowns. Computer game company Nintendo has created an online sports game where players from different locations can compete with each other at the same time, effective in improving their physical and mental well-being. Furthermore, governments can take a more active role in regulating family violence by implementing stricter regulations and setting up effective reporting channels, as well as offering more funding to educational institutions in order to open online skill courses at a low cost, allowing people whose jobs were impacted by the pandemic to develop new skills for better employability. All in all, the COVID-19 pandemic and the lockdown policies have resulted in major difficulties in people's daily lives, financially and mentally. If governments and the technology sector can work sensitively and innovatively, solutions can be made to help people to adapt such a hard time with the potential impacts properly mitigated.