Government investment in the visual arts, the kind you commonly see in art galleries, is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Investments from the government in visual arts are a waste of money, instead, the government should direct this monetary aid to public services. This essay completely agrees with the statement because art centres do not require any additonal financial backing and other sectors require this more. Art gallery's survival does not depend on the government's capital assistance. They can be self-reliant, if they manage their events well. Typically, the events hosted by them lack good awareness, which results in low public exposure. If they are managed by seasoned professionals, cash from the ticket bookings only would overshoot the breakeven point. Therefore, they do not have to rely on the government for bearing the costs. For example, Nandan's, a cultural club of Kolkata, annual art exhibition is so famous, that it recovers their entire year's operational cost within the first day. As a result, they never had to request any investment from the state's finance minister. Moreover, this investment can be better utilized by other important sectors like healthcare, that are always in need for capital to match the ever-changing standarcs of the modern medical facilities. If the public hospitals and nursing homes get this additional money, they can hire more staff and improve their medical instruments, which in turn would benefit the society and raise its health standard. For instance, Delhi government's budget allocation of an additional INR 1000 crore over the previous year in the state's medicine department has seen an improvement in the local health centres ability to provide a world class service to its patients. In conclusion, although governments investing in the art galleries are quite common, I believe it is a poor use of financial resources because these cultural centres can be self-reliant if they are well-managed, and other state departments like healthcare require this more to meet the changing medicine standards.