As more and more information is available online, the role of textbooks has become obsolete. Therefore, universities should replace traditional books with digital materials. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

Now, everyone can get information from anywhere and whenever. Because of this, university can change traditional books into digital books. Some of them think because the physical books have been too old. Despite all of the advantages of the online books, I argue that digital materials is predominantly disadvantageous to the students and lecturers. This will be depicted by looking at how online books can reducing the interest of reading literacy and the feeling when reading online books is not as happy as reading traditional books. First, people will have a low reading literacy when they read digital materials. For example, my friend were using Kindle to read online books, she did it for a long time. After one year ahead, she felt there was something wrong with her eyes. Then, she went to the doctor and as can be expected, she had bad eyesight. She told this experience to all of her book club communities. After that, they decided to not using online books anymore. So, online books will decrease the reading literacy. In addition to this, the sense when reading online and offline books is totally different. For example, I am a book lover and every time I read physical books, I really enjoyed it. This is because I can smell the pages of the books. Not only that, but also I can marked with colorful colours at sentences which related to me. Furthermore, in my house, there is a small library and I am saving all of books that I had read. It is something that more valuable as book lovers while online books enjoyers can not do. To conclude, even though people can use online books, but the drawbacks is more outweigh than the merits. Thus, university must not transforming physical books with digital novels.