Some people advocate death penalty for those who committed violent crimes. Others say that capital punishment is unacceptable in contemporary society. Describe advantages and disadvantages of death penalty and give your opinion.

Some individuals assume that particularly dangerous criminals should be punished with death penalty, while others think that this type of punishment is not a clear solution. Even though it seems like capital punishment should scare potential maniacs from commiting crimes, most of the time, this penalty will cause them to commit even more bad things, since they have nothing to lose anymore. Firstly, it is often said, that the death threat to the criminals may be able to make them think twice before doing something illegal, therefore reduce crime rates. In some countries, where death penalty is still legalized, some types of criminalties criminal ties are under control and only few people commit them. For instance, in China, bribe is mostly punished by death penalty, that’s why, the corruption rates are very low there. However, as it seems to be a way to deal with lawbreakers, residents, who know they will die soon, will do anything they want and most of the time, not good things. In other words, imagine if a person killed someone and he knows his, life will be taken sooner or later. So what does he do? He goes and kills an eyewitness, kills a person in prison and etc. Because, what does stop him from doing so? For example, 72% of all independent countries in the world cancelled death penalty as a punishment because of this factor. In conclusion, sure, this punishment can work here and there by affecting citizens’ fear of death but overall, it can lead to a growth of heavy deliquencies.