It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

In this day and age, people generally pursue a university education after schooling. It has been observed that most of the students are taking a drop of 1 year before commencing their further studies in colleges. This trend has both benefits and drawbacks, and this essay will examine both sides of the issue. After Schooling, a student has a vast variety of subjects and fields available in he which can build- up his career. Moreover, a pupil is immature to make such a big decision in his life. Taking a drop of 1 year provides sufficient time for an aspirant to decide his career path as he can explore a wide range of options. For instance, a child should take an extra year to finalize his work field rather than wasting several precious years of his life in a field that is inappropriate for him. Hence, it is advantageous to have a year off instead of making an incorrect choice. On the other hand, we cannot neglect the de-merits of taking a gap between the studies. In most of the cases, people who take a break become lazier and more inefficient. They lose their connection with education, and it becomes harder for them to restart after a year. Ancillary to this, they have no mentor to guide them, due to which they work according to their choice and unfortunately become undisciplined. Suffice it to say that it is quite tough to maintain the discipline of your life during the gap year. To recapitulate, I reiterate that it is fruitful to take enough time and make appropriate decisions regarding the study stream. However, taking a gap within education sometimes reduces the efficiency and worth of an individual. Thus, one must follow a proper schedule and time if he is planning to take a year off.