It is a good idea for people to continue working in an old age, if it is possible for them to do so. Do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, the concept of raising the retirement age has become familiar to some individuals, especially those living in developed countries. Some people argue that the extension of the retirement age has some positive effects and I agree with them. One main reason in favour of this view is that working more years is beneficial for older people ’s mental health. This is because continuing to work means they still need to analyse and solve problems and even communicate and discuss issues with colleagues. However, if they retire, engaging in passive activities, such as watching TV and surfing the internet, will become their daily routine. These activities require less thinking and thus lead to senile dementia easily. Besides, extending retirement years is conducive to reducing financial burdens on the government. If ageing people work two or three years more, the government can impose more taxes and allocate fewer pensions, which means they have more tax revenue and can distribute it to other important sectors, such as infrastructure and education. In addition, this trend has some positive and profound effects on improving productivity. More experience accumulated by senior people in their work can be passed to the next generation in a shorter time. In other words, young people would need to spend more time studying without guidance from these mature people. The more experience they have, the more creative they will be and the higher productivity society will have. In conclusion, I agree with the view that it is good for people over 60 to continue to work due to the importance of their mental health, a less financial burden for governments and growing productivity. However, it is noticeable that the working time and stress should be shortened appropriately according to their specific conditions.