Many believe that modern technology has brought people together, but others say that it has driven us apart. Discuss both viewpoints and give your own opinion.

In the modern era, several individuals believe that technological advancements have brought people closer to each other; however, others argue that it has created friction among them. While this development helped the masses connect across the borders, it shortened the quality of time spent with family members. This essay discusses both views and my opinion at the end. Nowadays, various mobile applications express viewpoints on various issues and connect people with similar interests. For instance, Reddit, a social platform allows users to discuss their opinions on different current topics and chat with others having the same beliefs, accounting for more than 1.2 million daily active users. In this way, numerous individuals spend a large proportion of their time on such apps they like to chat with the person having the same thinking on a topic. Therefore, more and more people tend to feel connected and spend their time interacting on these apps. Although it created a sense of online connectivity, it reduced the quality of time spent with family members. For example, a study shows that a person spends 4 hours more on mobile phones than having interaction with parents, wife, or children every day. People are interested in virtual interactions creating a gap in close relationships. Thus, it creates a friction among close releatives relative. To conclude, technological developments have helped increase connectivity among people and, at the same time created a rift among families around the globe. In my opinion, the current use of technological innovations has greater drawbacks than its benefits. People should limit the use of these and start having longer productive conversations face to face with their close relatives.