Some people think that it is a waste of time for high school students to study literature, such as novels and peoms. To what extend do you agree and disagree?

There is an argument that studying literature, such as poems and novels, is claimed to be an useless activity for high schoolars scholars schools. I strongly disagree with this point of view and I will elaborate more on this essay. Firstly, reading literature books help pupils to build their creativity skills. As fiction books consist of many unreal situations and characters, it leads to build some imaginations for the students. While generating ideas based on the books ' plots, the readers have better understanding on how society works as well as knowing how to validate others' feeling better. For example, in Indonesia, novel Laskar Pelangi is the most well-known literature among the high scholars. Studies showed that most of them have better motivation in studying after reading this novel. As a result, novels are not solely entertainment purpose, it aims to motivate the students by its stories. Secondly, fiction literatures can be such a distraction from technology overuse among the pupils. As these books have more entertainment aspects rather than the non-fiction papers, the students will be more enjoy to read on them. Many researches have been exhibited negative impacts that are addressed to the technology addiction, thus, enjoyable reading can be a mindful alternative to prevent this issue. For instance, in Jakarta, the national library claimed that the literature section there had the highest number of visitors in a year, and most of them were students. By visiting this section, these pupils spend more time to read comprehensively and they will have a little chance to stare only at their phones all day long. In conclusion, it is evident that learning literatures is not wasteful at all for the students. I believe that fiction papers are more beneficial in terms of creativity skills development and tackle technological's addictive.