The best way to reduce the amount of traffic in cities today is by reducing the need for people to travel from home to work, education or shopping. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is sometimes argued that reducing the demand for people to go to workplaces, schools or malls is the best way to decrease the number of transport on city roads nowadays. While there are some benefits to this option, I partly disagree with this notion due to the risks it presents. On the one hand, the idea of encouraging people to stay at home to solve the problem of traffic is beneficial to some extent. Firstly, the amount of emissions from vehicles can significantly decline. In fact, one of the most prevalent factors that cause global warming is the rocketing in people who use personal transport. For example, Ha Noi city which has a high percentage of private vehicles has a huge mass of fine dust in its atmosphere. Secondly, development in online platforms is required for shopping online as well as working and studying from home. On the other hand, despite the above-mentioned advantages, I believe that this opinion should not be applied. The main one is that the need for travelling for work, study or shopping purposes is impractical to reduce. This is because controversies among inhabitants will appear when they are forced to ease their indispensable demands, causing more social problems as well. During the COVID-19 pandemic, for one, the proportion of divorce had risen, leading to a decline in the rate of national happiness. Instead, facilitating public transport appears to be a superior alternative solution. For instance, by investing excessively in building elevated and underground railways, Japan has managed to reduce traffic volume considerably, easing congestion on roads. In conclusion, it is futile trying to get people to stay at home more for the sake of traffic and investing in modern means of public transit would be a better remedy when it comes to alleviating traffic. It is suggested that governments around the world judiciously examine this approach and consider the possibility of adopting it.