The continued rise in the world's population is the greatest problem faced by humanity at the present time. What are the causes of this continued rise? Do you agree that it is the greatest problem faced by humanity?

At the moment there are more than eight billion humans in the entire world. This is probably the main problem we are facing nowadays.Analyzing why improvements in medical and technological fields lead to this situation.Sadly, this is the most challenging issue we have ever faced as a society, more than all famines and wars combined. Firstly, the development of medical treatments enlarged life expectations. According to data, people this century live on average ten years more than in the previous one. As a result, it is more common to arrive at 80 or even 90 years old. In addition, the reduction of child mortality is also playing a role in this escalation. Secondly, the rise of technology results in more availability of resources. For instance, we have no problem finding food in supermarkets, in contrast to our ancestors, who used to fight for supplies.Reaching the calorie intake was in fact, a problem and a lot of people died from hunger in the past. However, now it is almost impossible to run out of food in developed countries, meaning people are dying less frequently, contributing to the upward trend of the population. In conclusion, this uncontrolled growth is certainly a problem that needs to be solved as soon as possible.I totally agree that this is the most difficult challenge humans have ever faced. Moreover, I can't imagine a bright future in front of us, I indeed think this may lead us to mass extinction since our planet's resources are limited.