Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste.

At present, few individuals argue that waste material released from homes, a sufficient amount of waste is not recycled, and the government should bring up laws to this problematic reason. Personally, I think the government cannot fully involve in this process and reasons will be outlined. Firstly, if government implemented strict rules towards poor recycling, people will be more considered and concerned on their habits, regular usage of materials. For example, the United States have introduced a new tax for not recycling the amount of garbage released. Therefore, people re-use the items such as bags and plastic bottles, and they collect the rubbish based on its materials (plastic, glass, paper). Moreover, the housewives collect & gather the kitchen waste and use as compost/fertilizers to plant. So, the United States is the perfect mimic to other countries and proved how far government laws could change people. On the other hand, a proper education of the consequent results of improper waste disposal is also equally important. For instance, educating... If an increased number of social programs are introduced explaining possible outcomes like global warming, climate change, imbalance of ecosystems, etc., people are informed, and people will realize the reality and foster recycling. Furthermore, introducing discounts, cash prizes, and gifts for people who minimize waste production. For instance, providing yearly tax reduction for people following the proper waste control schemes and offering family trips to Sri Lanka. This method of promotion encourages individuals to follow a proper waste control scheme. In conclusion, even though government laws can make people recycle and re-use the items, however, considering offering information to people of the consequences of improper garbage disposal and rewards will definitely help toward this situation.