Many people think that the best way to improve road safety is to increase the minimum legal age for driving cars or riding motorbikes. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Every year many people die in road accidents. Therefore, voices are present that the bast way to improve safety on the roads is to increase to minimum legal age for drivers. However, in my opinion, young drives do not constitute the core of the problem and much more significant steps must be taken to achieve road safety. There have been many reasons for which young drivers should not be consider as dangerous on the road. First and foremost, drivers that have just passed driving licence test are more careful then others, since they are not familiar with the road infrastructure. If you are a youth you don’t feel as comfortable driving the car as older drivers, since you don’t have enough experience, thus, you try to drive as safe as possible. Furthermore, people who have just passed their drivers test have a clear understanding of the road rules. It means that in order to get your drivers licence you had to learn all the principles of the traffic movement, consequently, you do your best to obey them. On the other hand, I believe that much more important steps have to be done to limit the number of road accidents. Since the most deaths is caused by drunk people, driving after drinking alcohol should be more strictly enforced. Therefore, more drastic punishment should be used for people who drive their vehicle drunk. Secondly, more speed cameras should be use. If there is a greater possibility to be caught speeding, less people will decide to break speed limits, which will positively contribute to the road safety. In conclusion, in my opinion the increase of minimum legal age for drivers will not reduce the number of car accidents as young drivers are careful and familiar with rules. Other actions such as higher punishment for drunk-driving and more often use of speed cameras should have been done to increase safety on the road.