Some say that music, art and drama are as important as other school subjects, especially at the primary level. Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued by some that in the primary level, art subjects take the same importance as other subjects in schools. This essay agrees with the statement because it leads to creativity and encourages social behaviour. When primary-level students are taught subjects like music, art, and drama, their brain starts developing. Such subjects require plenty of thinking and brainstorming that stretches the brain, thereby more neurons are fired in the cerebral cortex, fostering creativity. For example, a study by the University of Cambridge on the primary-level students of Minnesota over a period of 30 years suggested that the children who took up art subjects gave more innovative solutions to problems at work compared to those who took other specializations. The subjects, often have group participation and assignments as a part of their curriculum, which requires young children to sit together and learn a certain art form. In that process, new bonding and friendship happens with other children. This creates a social setting, and it is here that these students begin to learn how to socialize. For instance, the art and culture club of St. Xavier's Institution, a school in Kolkata, India, has mandatory classes in drama and music from first to fourth standards to ensure that students get comfortable and talk to one another. In conclusion,schools should emphasize art, drama, and music classes on the same level as other subjects because not only does this help primary-school students develop creative thinking, but also teaches them to socialize with others by forcing interaction with others.