Population are growing in cities rapidly. What are the effects of it. What solution can you give to maintain a good quality of life in urban cities.

Urbanisation is a common process found in most parts of the world, bringing many negative impacts to people living in cities where there is a stark rise in population. This paper will assess some consequences caused by such trends, and provide constructive solutions based on personal insights. Firstly, if the population growth in a city is unsustainable, it is likely that the supply and demand in the local housing market will be imbalance, affecting people's affordability in houses. with limited land spaces and construction workers, a report distributed by a non-governmental organisation in California has reported that it would take 8 years for a couple from San Jose to buy their first property without spending a penny on expenses other than the house. This demonstrates that urban residents are struggling in securing shelters for living, which can be a trend devastating in people's living qualities. Secondly, with a significant rise in urban population, there will more cars adding to the already congested urban roads. Regarded as the most congested city in Australia in 2023, Melbournian drivers normally spent more than one hour in commuting, with more greenhouse gas was emitted due to the jammed traffic. Without effective plans and solutions, I believe that the situations in traffic is only set to get worse. To avoid the impacts caused by urban population growth, governments are responsible to plan and implement solutions to address the matter. Addressing the overwhelming amount of traffic on the road, the government in Hong Kong has been interactively imposing heavier taxes on car ownership, while expanding the city's railway network on the other hand. Over the years, I am convinced that these measures have been effective in reducing road congestions and people's time spent on commuting. Furthermore, to create more rooms for urban residents to reside, the Singaporean government has put efforts in building new public housing and setting up plans in helping young couple to purchase their first housing property over the years. Despite the population is still rising in the city, in 2022 over 70% of the local population lived in homes owned by the households themselves, I believe if other cities can adopt such policies and plans, there would be an effective relief on the local housing supplies. All in all, housing and traffic are two of the main effects caused by the speedy growth in urban population. While the quality of life was crucially impacted, there are solutions with proven effectiveness in addressing these effects, namely car control policies, the construction of public transport infrastructure and public housing.