Some people say that older, more traditional buildings in cities should be preserved. Others believe that these buildings should be demolished and new ones built in their place. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

A number of people argue that ancient buildings in towns should be protected, while others are of the opinion that these buildings should be replaced with new ones. This essay agrees with the prior point and will show that, despite the risk of the collapse of traditional buildings, they serve as cultural heritage in most countries, whereas constructing new mansions will facilitate modern life. People in most towns and cities are in a fever of preserving their cultural heritage at any cost, wherein governments fund a totally separate department in the government body to work and maintain these old monuments, such as buildings and protected traditional suburbs in a city; furthermore, these buildings are part of the city’s beauty, and it would be better to have them maintained every six months to keep them from falling off. For instance, in our city, we have a row of buildings that are from around 90 years ago, and the government carries out maintenance every year to keep them as they were built in their first years. In my opinion, as part of cultural heritage, these buildings and houses should be preserved and maintained for more years. However, there are a number of people who prefer to get rid of these old buildings and build new ones with modern facilities and safety standards. As of now, people are interested in smart cities with the best transportation, self-driven cars, smart buildings with 6G internet connectivity, and more robust facilities such as swimming pools, gyms, bars, garages for the safety of cars, nearby supermarkets, cinemas, and loads of amusement parks for their children. For example, some cities around the world are divided into two parts—new cities and old cities —to build new homes and mansions. I believe we should not diminish our old cities because they are memories of our ancestors. In conclusion, archaic buildings are part of ancient heritage, and most people advocate their destruction. Conversely, others prefer to demolish these buildings and build new ones in place of them with more residential amenities, whereas I believe they should be preserved for as long as their longevity could last.