In the past, when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own countries. Nowadays, they have more opportunities to study abroad. What are the advantages and the disadvantages of this development?

Back in the days, people mostly stayed on their own country to continue studying in universities. However, moving overseas to pursue a degree has become a trend in todays society. This essay will discuss the advantages of this phenomenon and also its drawback. One of the most prominent advantages is that students who take the opportunity to study abroad will get to be exposed with a whole different environment which might trigger self-improvements. Moving to a new area by themselves means that they are forced to be independent. They will acquire many survival skills, such as preparing meals and doing laundry. For instance, many international students from developing country who continue their education in UK universities tend to save money by cooking their own food since eating out cost a fortune, in their local currencies. As a result, they gain cooking skills and also financial management. The possible disadvantage of this trend is the number of students in local universities might drop over the years and will result in closing a particular study program permanently, as only small amount of students are interested. If many majors are closed, then students, who only get the opportunity to pursue a degree from local university, will have a very limited options of study programs. In the end, they continue their education without passion. In conclusion, the growing number of students pursuing a degree overseas will bring improvements to the individuals as they learn to live independently, but the shortage of students in local universities due to this trend might result in multiple study programs being closed.