The first smartphone was released in 1992. By then year 2020 there may be as many as 2.5 billion smartphones in the world. The use of smartphones is decreasing our collective intelligence because we are reliant on the technology and not our own minds. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this age and day, using of smartphones is seemingly increasing and it is argued that people's knowledge is reducing because of some reasons related to phones. I partially support this viewpoint and I will elaborate my arguments in the following paragraphs. On the one hand, l accept that the number of people with low intelligence is increasing due to electronic devices, such as computers or telephones. For example, some pupils use sophisticated technology for even simple tasks such as calculating. For this reason, individuals may lose their ability to do daily activities. For instance, The New York Times says that the public of New York is less capable due to latest technology. Moreover, almost every school is provided with technological equipment and students should not use their own capabilities for doing research because of it. As a result of this, they become less productive than before. On the other hand, it is also true that phones contribute to individuals' intelligence levels. Nowadays, there are a lot of services and websites which allow users access to the latest information about different topics such as Wikipedia. Furthermore, vast amounts of apps are available to improve pupils' understanding and comprehension skills. For example, there is an app called Wordle which asks people to find incorrect answers about scientific topics and correct them. In conclusion, although I agree that technology assists people in being more productive and knowledgeable, l also hold the view that if people use technology in the wrong way they will be less successful.