19.Some people think that museums and art galleries should concentrate on showing local works rather than the cultures or artworks from other parts of the world. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, there has been an increase in the number of people who appreciate local art. As a result, more and more of them want to see it in art galleries. However, at the same time, others claim that such institutions should be open for art from all over the world. While both of these views have both pros and cons, in my opinion, museums should consist of all forms of art. Significant benefits of local art in art galleries can be found. First and foremost, it can contribute to the promotion of artists from particular areas. Less popular painters cannot compete with world-famous ones, so if there are museums containing only local culture, it is much easier for them to present their artworks. Furthermore, it may also lead to the promotion of whole regions. It means that, if each region had a gallery with its local art, people would have to visit it in order to experience its culture. On the other hand, it is often said that it is better for galleries to consist of diverse sources of art. The most significant benefit of such an approach is the fact that museums can compete with each other. Galleries that have the largest funds are capable of collecting the best-known artworks, consequently earning the most money. In addition, it also possesses a relevant advantage for visitors. Storage of the most famous artists in one place not only does allows galleries to earn the most, but also enables visitors to see all major works at once. In conclusion, both art galleries with local art only as well as those with more diverse ones have strengths and weaknesses. The first one creates an opportunity for the development of local artists and a whole region, which in my opinion is much more significant. The second one, in contrast, enables free competition between such institutions and constitutes a chance for visitors to see many world-famous artworks at once.