In many cities, private cars are banned from city centers. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

In some crowded cities, banning private cars from entering to the city centres has been run. This matter could have some advantages, like less air pollution and less traffic jams, and some disadvantages, including harder accessibility to the central places. To commence with, inhibiting the entrance of private cars to the downtowns could be beneficial in many ways. By prohibiting personal cars, the amount of air pollution will decrease, which this method is one of the best ways to have better air quality. Moreover, less traffic due to the less cars could be very beneficial for time management. In crowded cities, people have to manage their time due to stocking in traffic. By this way, they will be able to allocate their time to the other chores. For example, in Tehran, commuting to the downtown could waste a whole day; while after prohibiting rules for private cars, time-wasting has decreased. On the other hand, inhibiting personal cars from city centers could lead to some troubles. These areas in the cities are full of governmental centers and shopping centers. The banning rules could cause great problems for many, especially the elderly. In other words, they have to pave long ways to have access to the needed places. For instance, in these areas, there is a long distance between bus stops and main centers, which makes it laborious for older people to access these areas. In a nutshell, banning rules for private cars could have some advantages and disadvantages. The advantages include less air pollution and less traffic. On the other hand, the disadvantages could be some troubles for old people to access the main centers in the downtowns.