Some people say that if old people spend time and get along with others and exercise everyday they will become fit. However these days older people are usually lonely and donot talk to others which makes them unfit and how unhappy. What are the reasons for this? How can this be resolved

Although it is widely accepted that the keys to staying fit for the elderly are frequent interactions with others and daily exercise, contemporary older generations tend to stay alone and have few opportunities of conversations. In this essay, I elaborate on the reasons for this phenomenon and the measures to address it. To begin with, there are several factors that cause older populations to be isolated. The primary reason is that they do not have a clue to jump into the community after their retirement. Taking Japan as an example, as the Japanse workers spend a majority of time on their work, they scarcely know others apart from their workplace. Therefore, when they are retired, they lose interactions and feel lonely in a society. Another justification is that many older generations no longer live with their children. Thus, as they do not have to do household chores for their children or grandchildren, killing time at home, they are likely to lose their self-confidence. To solve this issue, immediate actions should be implemented. One of the pragmatic measures is to provide older citizens with job or volunteering opportunities. If they can maintain working, they will feel that they contribute to the society and be able to create new relationships. Particularly in Japan where people desire to continue working even after their retirement age, this approach will be effective. Another tactic is that communities hold regular events which encourage them to take part. Once they participate, they will find someone to talk and touch base with them later. In conclusion, here are some causes for the trend where older individuals are isolated despite the widespread understanding of importance of connecting with their community to be healthy. While some are afraid of being involved in their community due to a lack of interactions before their retirement, others are due to changes in lifestyle. To address this issue, providing them with working opportunities and organising more community events will be practical methods.