Recent research has confirmed that human activity has become the greatest threat to plant and animal life Why do you think this has happened? How can we reduce our impact on the natural world?

It is irrefutable that by exploiting the natural world human beings have threatened the existence of wildlife, even have been responsible for their loss. It happens for a variety of reasons but straightforward measures exist to ensure the survival of plants and animals. I believe two factors are to blame why certain species of fauna and flora have become threatened. One of the main reasons is attributed to loss of habitat. With the population of the world on rise, humans have claimed increasingly large areas of land for construction of homes and cities. An inevitable result of this dominance has been the removal of plants and the destruction of animal territories as can most recently be seen in the once vibrant forests of North America which are now nothing more than cemeteries of tree-dwelling animals whose homes fell under our axes. Increasing urban development has, in turn, led to global warming, which is another contributing factor. It is undeniable that temperature and rainfall are critical to the survival of wildlife. Human-caused global warming has resulted in a shift in weather patterns, resulting in flooding, drought and heat waves, all of which have taken their toll on the natural world by, for example, washing away the homes of amphibians, and drying up the roots of small plants. I believe that problem has to be tackled on a number of levels. As individuals, we should ensure that we treat the countryside with respect. Avoiding activities that harm animal life and, if possible, participating in projects or donating to charities that work to protect the world around us can help preserve planet Earth’s existing species. An increasing number of people in developed countries have already taken such initiatives, particularly the environmental activists in Canada. Moreover, government also needs to be involved to combat the problem. What it needs to do in their own countries is to encourage sustainability by limiting urban growth and reducing human activities which contribute to wildlife negatively. In conclusion, although many of the threats to plant and animal life directly result from human activity, it is now time to redress the situation. If we do not do it now, our biosphere will soon cease to exist, and the next species might become endangered.