Many elderly people are no longer looked after by their families but are put in care home or nursing home. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend

Nursing homes serve a purpose of providing facilities and care for the much-needed elderly; however, it seems as though it has put a negative narrative on the person's family. This essay will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of care houses. On one hand, nursing homes exists to accommodate citizens with complex conditions or terminal illnesses that are hard to deal with on a day-to-day basis in a home setting. It does not necessarily have to be people of age, but more and more families tend to put their grandparents into care homes due to multiple reasons. One of the reasons being, that they worry they would not have the time or the energy to put in the time and effort to attend to and care for their seniors, thus taking them into a nursing house would be the optimal choice. Others believe that it would also benefit them financially in the long run, nonetheless it still costs a hefty amount. On the other hand, factoring in the distance and time, which may vary, there is a very likely chance that meeting or even seeing your family member may become an occasional occurrence. Furthermore, it would loosen or even break the bond between families, and it could even cause the younger generations to be unfamiliar with their seniors. All of this may lead to a negative reputation surrounding the family, which may explain the upraising trend of this topic. In conclusion, families may be required to put their elderlies in retirement homes because of specific reasons. Nevertheless, others may have a pessimistic perspective on it without even acknowledging the reasonings behind it.