One long-distance flight consumes fuel which a car uses in several years’ time, but they cause the same amount of pollution. So, some people think that we should discourage non-essential flights, such as tourist travel, rather than to limit the use of cars.To what extent do you agree or disagree?

One long distance flight consumes fuel which a car uses in several years’ time, but they cause the same amount of pollution. So some people think we should discourage non-essential flights, rather than to limit the use of cars. I am one of those people and here are some reasons why. Firstly gasses emitted by planes, such as carbon dioxide, nitrous oxides, sulfur dioxide, cause a greenhouse or similar effect which causes a rise in temperature, more severe storms, increased drought and so on. Secondly ultrafine aviation particles possibly cause nearly 280,000 cases of high blood pressure, 330,000 cases of diabetes and 18,000 cases of dementia. These are only a few problems caused by airplane flights which have skyrocketed in the past few decades. Solutions to plane travel are quite simple. You can just try to fly less, maybe travel by train or drive a car, and don’t plan trips to particularly remote countries, maybe resort to ones closer to you. But there’s only so much one simple citizen can do, some actions should be taken by the billionaires and superstars that fly their private jets even for the shortest flights. For example Taylor Swift, she travels distances that could literally be walked. To summarize planes emit lots of unhealthy gasses and their carbon footprint is also quite significant but there are ways that we can counteract these difficulties. Hopefully we can get on the right track and decrease the amount of these flights in the upcoming years.