Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor.

More people with health issues are becoming increasingly interested in trying alternative medications and treatments instead of consulting their usual doctor. I believe that is a negative development because of the lack of medical credibility of alternative medical practitioners and the many unsupervised medications that they use. While doctors are equipped with scientific medical knowledge from their degrees, a lot of alternative medical practitioners don't have any medical credentials to prove their expertise. Often times they are only learning about health and medicines through cultural practices that lack scientific-proven data and methodologies. For instance, in Indonesia, many alternative medical practitioners, which are called "dukun" don't have any medical background. Instead, they are mostly associated with superstitions rather than sciences. Due to the fact that many alternative medication practitioners are not legally recognized, many of the medications that they use are not supervised. Although these practices are already widely accepted, the government still don't consider these practices as legal, hence the medications that they use are not supervised. This could lead to many medical side effects for the patients. For instance, many alternative medical patients in Indonesia were diagnosed with cancer after taking the medications prescribed by an alternative medical practitioner in the city of Madiun in 2012. In conclusion, I believe the increasing number of people with health issues turning from conventional doctors to alternative medicines and practices is a negative development because of the lack of medical credentials and the side effects of drugs of alternative medicines and practices.