Many believe that modern technology has brought people together, but others say that it has driven us apart. Discuss both viewpoints and give your own opinion.

The new ways of communication developed by the modern technologies have been able to bring people closer, however, some have a completely different opinion. I am of the opinion of the new technology is bringing population closely. Firstly, some people mention that not every generation is able to use computers or manage to keep up with the latest updates. This way of thinking sometimes express that the new phones such as smartphones are making a big breach between families as the new generation are using their phone obsessively. They do not sit with their family to watch TV or they are not having conversation at dinner time. Different surveys have reported, for example, that teenagers spent the majority of their leisure time watching Tik-Tok or Instagram. However, the new technologies are bringing people together in a way that families can connect even when they life thousand of miles away. For example, it was extraordinary how different platforms such as Zoom or Teams brought relatives together during the Covid pandemic. The population was able to see their relatives when they were at the hospital. These platforms also helped people that was feeling lonely at home, to connect with friends or family, helping with their mental health. In that time, the humanity came closer because of the modern technology, everyone was able to use a smartphone or laptop. In conclusion, new technology could have a negative effect if it is used uncontrolled but the benefits that it has given until now such has worldwide communication or mental health improvement are significant higher.