Some people believe that old buildings should be protected by law. Others, however, think that they should be replaced by new buildings. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

There have been diverse arguments on whether old buildings should be preserved or substituted with new buildings. I am of the opinion that old buildings should be preserved because they represent a significant cultural value that cannot be replaced. Firstly, these houses serve as a tangible reminder of the towns they are located in, allowing future generations to connect with their history. In addition, preserving old buildings can help maintain the identity of a region and attract tourists in different way. For instance, old towns and their medieval structures are often the main tourist attractions in most countries because of the cultural heritage and value inherent in it. In addition, the architectural styles in these buildings over time reflect the aesthetic abilities of mankind and the technology in materials and construction methods, minor the level of scientific advancements in these civilizations. Morever, being able to generate sacred events in these structures can generate income, thereby covering the cost of maintenance. Hence, it allows descendants the chance to learn their identity and instill national pride. For example, the yearly Ogun festival reminds the descendants of their ancestral history and sacrifices. In my opinion, while modernization and development are important, preserving old buildings should be prioritized, particularly when they hold significant historical or cultural value. Therefore, towns should make sure to enforce the rich culture. In conclusion, both protecting old buildings and constructing new ones have their merits. However, I am of the opinion that preserving old buildings is a reflection of our culture and heritage. Also, sacred events organized in this infrastructure can boost the economic value.