Nowadays many people travel to foreign countries for pleasure. Some believe this travel has a negative impact on the countries travelled to. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Mass tourism is widely present in the contemporary world. However, despite many people take advantage of what it offers, it is often believed that it has a negative impact on the countries travelled to. I partly agree with this thesis and claim that it has both pros and cons. Tourism has a significant benefits for visiting states. First and foremost, it improves their economy. In poorer regions of the world a huge part of the society lives from tourism, which means that they provides accomodation, food, and entertainment for tourists, thus, travellers have a positive impact on the visiting country. Furthermore, there are many different types of tourists - to illustrate it, for instance backpackers are the people who try to get involved and help the society they visit. Not only they sightseeing, but also often teach english in local schools, take part in workcamps, and, what the most important, respect the community that host them. On the other hadn, a relevant drawbacks of mass tourism are presented too. The most significant of them is interupting every day life of residents. In places such as Venice, Italy or Paris, France, a massive influx of travellers can handicap the life of local people, who suffer from crowded streets and high prices. In addition, most of tourists do not really care about naturall environment of visiting places. Consequently, travellers can often contribute to the pollution of beaches, forests, and water recipients. In conclusion, I partly agree with the statement that mass tourism has a negative impact on the countries travelled to. Tourists can contribute to pollution of the environment and handicap live of local people. In contrast, however, they also can boost the economy of visiting states as well as positivly influence the hosting society in the form of workcamps, and english lessons.