Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Providing Internet access is just as important as other services, such as building roads, so governments should offer Internet access to all of their citizens at no cost. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is believed that it should be mandatory for the government to provide free internet services to the public, as these days the internet is considered equally crucial as services like construction of roads. In my perspective, being able to access a network is essential because it provides job opportunities and enhances the learning experience. First and foremost, a lot of growth opportunities ought to be generated online; as there are numerous ways to generate income through the internet by attracting the public. For instance, freelancing, where people reach a vast audience online to find potential clients and earn a living. Likewise, after COVID-19, the culture of working from home has prevailed across the world resulting in a better work-life balance. Therefore, employees prefer to work from a convenient location and the Internet is a required tool for this transition, similar to the requirement of a good road network to reach the office on time. Secondly, the internet is also emerging as a vital source of education, due to its credibility and reliability, and some families might not be able to afford the educational expenses of their children so the internet can help in their intellectual development. For example, tutoring websites like Unacademy, have professional teachers from around the world who provide great insights on topics that interest students. Furthermore, some concepts might not be taught at school or by parents. Thus, it is an excellent proposal for the government to provide free access to online services. In conclusion, In my opinion, it is an ideal approach to avail internet services to the public. Owing to the fact that the internet can be a major source of income for many and sustains the education of children. The government should hence enforce laws to install free wifi in every household and in public areas.